Home | Video

Fall Athletes Honoured at Assembly

New faces dominated the Major S and MVP circle Wednesday evening as Stanstead College officially ended the sports season with its Fall Athletic Assembly.

Ryan Young, Grade 11 of Derby Line, Vt., earned the Bobby Moore Trophy and his first Major S for senior boys soccer. Ryan scored 13 goals in 15 games, including a natural hat trick and a streak of eight goals in a row in five games. “Our opponents feared him,” said Coach Andre Simard.

In senior girls soccer, Elisabeth Shane, Grade 11 of Ayer’s Cliff, Que., won the Merle Griffin Trophy and Major S in her role as keeper. Coach Brendan Varro singled out Elisabeth’s performance at CAIS, calling her the reason the team had a chance in any game.

Antoine Remillard, Grade 9 of Washington, DC, won the William Greenfield Trophy for cross-country running as well as a Junior S for his great attitude and consistent performance during the season, placing in the top three in every race of the year.

A first-ever Major S was given in the new sport of ultimate to Tyler Carruthers, Grade 12 of Stanstead, Que. Coach Emily Norris recognized Tyler’s teamwork, sportsmanship and precision, working diligently for the betterment of the team in their first season.

Two other Major S awards were presented in senior boys soccer: to captain Andrew Bouchard, Grade 12 of Newport, Vt., who played the most minutes and dominated the mid-field, resulting in the second-most goal count on the team; and to Patricio Guttierez, Grade 9 of Mexico City, the top keeper in league, said Coach Simard.

The following is the full list of prize winners:

Bantam Boys Soccer
Bantam S – Beren Lovejoy, Trevor Laforce, Chaz Grenier, William Towner
Sportsmanship – Rodrigo Aceves Hernandea

Junior Boys Soccer
Junior S – Lorenzo Bono, Guillermo Santillan, Mateo Alba Alcala
Sportsmanship – Mateo Alba Alcala

Junior Girls Soccer
Junior S – Alexa Ascobereta, Sage Lovejoy
Sportsmanship – Maria Casas Soto

Senior Boys Soccer
Senior S – Jorge Correia, Panayioti Efraimidis
Major S – Patricio Gutierrez, Andrew Bouchard, Ryan Young
Sportsmanship – Nicolas Pokora, Jack Lippmann
MVP Trophy – Ryan Young

Senior Girls Soccer
Senior S – Samantha Smith, Mariama Barry
Major S – Elisabeth Shane
Sportsmanship – Ariela Boltvinik Palacios Roji
MVP Trophy – Elisabeth Shane

Cross-Country Running
Junior S – Rosemary Lefebvre, Antoine Remillard
Senior S – Alexei Berube
Sportsmanship – Ba Nam Nguyen, Oscar Haase
MVP Trophy – Antoine Remillard

Senior S – David Blais
Major S – Tyler Carruthers
Sportsmanship – Juliette Veilleux, Tatsuhiro Terakado

More photos at Vidigami. Watch the full assembly below.