Home | Video

Terry Fox Tradition Continues at SC

By Kyra Borsoi
On Thursday, September 17, Stanstead College kept with their longstanding tradition by continuing the Terry Fox Run, despite all the changes that have happened due to COVID.

Normally, the whole school gathers as a group to start the race. By following COVID regulations set in place, the students gathered by grade at their designated spots to start. The start times were staggered, each with a two minute delay. All faculty, staff and students were required to wear masks throughout the event.

A member of the class of 2020, Conner Ehmann, ran his very own Terry Fox Run, all the way from Alaska.

Rather than recognize the fastest runners, we encouraged participants to run as many laps as they could beyond the required three – in the spirit of Terry Fox.

“These students dug deep,” said Erik Van Dyke, director of athletics, “which is the best and only way to honour Terry Fox, who I consider to be the greatest Canadian ever.”

The top runners in their category got $25 gift cards to Marché Tradition.

Below are the results.

Terry Fox Champions
  • Junior girls – Avah St-Pierre & Gloria Riddell, 13 laps each
  • Junior boys – Liam Huckins, 18 laps
  • Senior girls – Emilie Fortunato & Laurence Frenette, 20 laps each
  • Senior boys, and overall champion for 2020 – Cedric Beauregard, 21 laps

Honourable Mentions
  • 10 laps – Rosemary Lefebvre, Justin Laforce
  • 11 laps – Jeremy Leroux, Faaiz Akbar (aka the faculty with the most laps!)
  • 13 laps – Henry Riddell, Nicolas Pokora, Trofim Godochkin
  • 15 laps – Antoine Remillard, Jack Lippman, Ali Antoine
  • 17 laps – Saif Alexander-Pardhan (Grade 7!)
  • 19 laps – Jerome Sayeur
  • 20 laps – Jeremy Tremblay, Panayioti Efraimidis, Marc-Antoine Ducharme, Yoan Torello

On Friday, students and staff gave a minimum of $2 each in exchange for a free-dress day to go to the Terry Fox Foundation and cancer research.

Conner Ehmann running his run in Alaska.