News Detail

Fall Athletes Honoured

R. Murray / News
Three first-time Major S winners were also the recipients of MVP trophies at Wednesday’s Fall Athletic Assembly, held at Centenary Church.
Will Huckins, Grade 12 of Stanstead, won the Bobby Moore Trophy and a Major S for his contributions to senior boys soccer. Coach Andre Simard described this veteran athlete as a leader and the hardest worker on the team. He had the most minutes and touched the most free balls – was frankly everywhere.
The second Major S went to Caleb Goudreau, Grade 11, also of Stanstead, the team’s top defender, goal-kick taker and all-around bacon-saver.
In senior girls soccer, Alyssa MacPherson, Grade 11 of Stanstead, earned a Major S Award and the Merle Griffin Trophy. Coach Brendan Varro summed Alyssa up as simply the best keeper in the league.
Florence Aubé, Grade 12 of Sherbrooke, won a Major S for her versatile skills and her ability to dribble through defenders and score from the corner, along with her leadership and work ethic.
The third trophy winner of the evening was Maxwell Mayer of Munich, Germany, who won a Major S along with the William Greenfield Trophy for cross-country running. Coach Keri Reynolds remarked on the Grade 10 student’s commitment and laser focus that won him every ETIAC race except the final, where a lack of spikes and a muddy hill got the better of him.
A Senior S for cross-country running went to Martin Lefebvre of Magog, Que., Grade 11, who showed impressive improvement throughout the season, always placing in the top 6 and always striving to do better.
Senior S awards for girls soccer were presented to Emily Willis (Grade 11, Derby, Vt.), the team’s best defender who was always smart and helpful; Mackenzy St-Pierre (Grade 11, Ogden, Que.), who logged the most minutes and generated offence and was tough of defence; and Rina Takahashi (Grade 12, Tokyo, Japan), always in the right place and winning balls from opponents twice her size.
The Sportsmanship Award for senior girls soccer went to Valeria Rodriguez of Mexico City, a hard worker both as a player and as a team helper.
There were four Senior S awards in boys soccer: Olivier Daniel (Grade 11, Dieppe, NB), Philippe Martel (Grade 11, Blainville, Que) and Keiran Gallant (Grade 10, Covehead PEI) for their offensive talent; and Alex Liddell-Grainger (Grade 12, Hemmingford, Que.) for his effort and leadership. The Sportsmanship Award went to Sangheeth Prakash of Lagos, Nigeria (Grade 12) whose positivity rallied the team when things weren’t going well.
A Junior S for running was awarded to Josh Tremblay, Grade 9 of Bromont, Que., a hard-working, happy runner with significant potential. The Sportsmanship Award for running went to Frederic Migneault, Grade 10 of Longueuil, Que., who was always positive and striving to do better.
The junior boys soccer team saw three Junior S awards: Alexis Daniel, Grade 9 of Dieppe, Que., for being the hardest working and most consistent player on the team; Ryan Young, Grade 9 of Derby Line, Vt., for his overall talent as well as scoring and passing ability; and team captain Andrew Bouchard, Grade 10 of Derby Line, Vt., who showed maturity and determination to prove himself.

The Sportsmanship Award for junior boys soccer went to Nicolas Pokora, Grade 9 of Stanstead, a quiet leader who did whatever needed to be done for the team.

In junior girls soccer, a Junior S Award was presented to Ana Sofia de la Parra, Grade 9 of Mexico City, who was the strongest, most versatile player on the team. The Sportsmanship Award went to Rosalie Gadoua-Giroux of Candiac, Que., Grade 10, for being the most genuinely kind big sister on the team.

Mariama Barry, Grade 9 of Ottawa, earned a Bantam S for girls soccer in recognition of her breakaway speed and dominance on the team.

Bantam S boys soccer awards also went to Marcelo Santoscoy Munez of Zapopan, Mexico (Grade 8) and Dominic Pokora of Stanstead (Grade 7) for their dedication to improving, their leadership on and off the field, contributions in practice and in games and determination. Dominic also won the Bantam Boys Soccer Sportsmanship Award.
More photos of prize winners on Vidigami